OHS Education Awards

The Safety Institute of Australia joins with the Australian OHS Education Accreditation Board to announce the annual SIA OHS Education Awards. These Awards recognise university students studying in the occupational health and safety field, who have demonstrated strong potential and commitment to their discipline.

The purpose of these awards is to provide an opportunity for students studying occupational health and safety at university level, and demonstrating high levels of achievement and initiative, to be recognised by the Safety Institute of Australia. These awards are not designed to recognise the highest academic achiever, but to recognise the potential in students who display consistently high academic standards, practical skills and a commitment to, and involvement in, occupational health and safety.

There are three award categories open for nomination:

  • The Eric Wigglesworth OHS Education (Research) Award
  • The National OHS Education (Postgraduate) Award
  • The National OHS Education (Undergraduate) Award

In addition to the recognition associated with winning one of these awards, the winners receive a professional development fund to the value of $3000 at the doctoral level or $1500 at the postgraduate and undergraduate levels. The educational institution from which the winner has graduated is also recognised. See the fact sheets below for more information about each of the awards.

Who Can Nominate

Nominations can be made by the thesis supervisor, a peer of the nominee or the graduate via self- nomination.

How to Nominate

Nominations are made via the online application form. To nominate go to: https://www.judgify.me/sia-education-awards2017, read the background information including judging criteria then click the “SUBMIT AN ENTRY” button.

We strongly encourage you to nominate a research graduate or self-nominate not only to gain personal recognition for the graduate and for the institution but to assist in disseminating the research to influence OHS practice.

Should you have any queries or require assistance regarding the online submission contact Penny Toth at the SIA on 03 8336 1995 or penny@sia.org.au.

Selection Process and Criteria

The judging for the National Education Awards is solely based on the specified project nominated by the applicant. Information is sought against the criteria of:

  • a high level of OHS technical skill and knowledge;
  • ability to apply OHS knowledge to practical situations;
  • good communication skills.

The review process considers the project report and the applicant's defence of the report in interview. If the judges deem it necessary or appropriate, further comment may be obtained from the relevant industry. In the PhD/doctorate/masters by research category it is expected that, as part of demonstrating professional communication skills the candidates will have published a report on their project in an appropriate journal which may include Safety In Australia, industry journals appropriate to the project topic, or relevant peer reviewed journals.

In some states, Divisional education awards may be offered at the Diploma level and they may conduct the first round of judging for the national awards for their state.

More on the Eric Wigglesworth Medal